Spotlight on the 2021 CRA Abstract Awards



Best Abstract on SLE Research by a Trainee – Ian Watson Award

Sponsored by the Lupus Society of Alberta

Winner: Dr. Raffaella Carlomagno, University of Toronto Abstract Title: Genetics of Age at Diagnosis in Systemic Lupus

ErythematosusSupervisor: **Dr. Linda Hiraki**

Best Abstract on Clinical or Epidemiology Research by a Trainee – Phil Rosen Award

Sponsored by the Arthritis Society – Phil Rosen Memorial Award Winner: Kimberley Yuen, Queen's University, School of Medicine

Abstract Title: Is the Montreal Cognitive Assessment (MoCA) a Suitable Screening Tool for Assessing Cognitive Impairment in Patients with Systemic Lupus Erythematosus (SLE) Compared to the American College of Rheumatology Neuropsychological Battery (ACR-NB)?

Supervisor: Dr. Zahi Touma

Best Abstract by a Rheumatology Resident

Sponsored by the CRA

Winner: Dr. Ariane Barbacki, McGill University

Abstract Title: Damage Trajectories in Systemic Sclerosis Using

Group-Based Trajectory Modelling

Supervisors: Drs. Ada Man and Murray Baron

Best Abstract on Basic Science Research by a Trainee

Sponsored by the CRA

Winner: Andrew Kwan, University of Toronto

Abstract Title: Assessment of the Impact of Interferon Levels on

Cognitive Dysfunction in Patients with SLE

Supervisor: Dr. Zahi Touma

Best Abstract by a Post-Graduate Research Trainee

Sponsored by the CRA

Winner: Luiza Grazziotin, University of Calgary

Abstract Title: Disentangling the Web of Costs Associated with

Juvenile Idiopathic Arthritis

Supervisor: Dr. Deborah Marshall

Best Abstract on Quality Care Initiatives in Rheumatology

Sponsored by the CRA

Winner: Dr. Nadia Luca, University of Calgary

Abstract Title: Choosing Wisely: The Canadian Rheumatology Association Pediatric Committee's List of Items Physicians and

Patients Should Ouestion

Best Abstract by a Medical Student

Sponsored by the CRA

Winner: Daniel Levin, McMaster University

Abstract Title: The Fecal Microbiome Differences Between Patients With Systemic Sclerosis With And Without Small

Intestinal Bacterial Overgrowth

Supervisors: Drs. Maggie Larche and Karen Beattie

Best Abstract by an Undergraduate Student

Sponsored by CRA

Winner: Anson Lee, McGill University

Abstract Title: Potential Savings for Canadian Public Drug Insurance Plans Related to Biosimilar Adalimumab

Supervisor: Dr. Sasha Bernatsky

Best Abstract by a Rheumatology Post-Graduate Research Trainee

Sponsored by CRA

Winner: Dr. Jennifer Lee, University of Toronto
Abstract Title: The Long-Term Cardiac and Non-Cardiac
Prognosis of Kawasaki Disease (KD): A Systematic Review
Supervisor: Drs. Brian Feldman and Jessica Widdifield

Best Abstract on Research by Young Faculty

Sponsored by the CRA

Winner: Dr. Lihi Eder, University of Toronto Abstract Title: COVID-19 hospitalizations, ICU admission, and death among Ontario residents with immune mediated inflammatory diseases

Best Abstract on Spondyloarthritis Research

Sponsored by the Canadian Spondylitis Association

Winner: Dr. Sandeep Dhillon, McMaster University

Abstract Title: Radiological Validation of a Novel MRI Reporting

System for Axial Spondyloarthritis

Supervisor: Drs. John O'Neill and Raj Carmona